Review: Moisture & Shine Hydrating Masque (Ulta)

moist

If you’re anything like me, you probably cause your hair a lot of wear and tear. I use a lot of heat on my hair, and no matter how good I am about using heat protectant, I always wind up with tons of split and dried ends.

I recently went to Ulta to purchase some hair masks to see if they would help my lifeless hair. The reality of my situation is that I truly just need to get my hair cut to have it be healthy again, but I just moved to Atlanta, and there are few people I trust to color my hair, let alone cut it. That being said, I thought I would buy some masks to see if they would improve the liveliness of my hair.

I read a ton of online reviews for different hair masks. The mask i originally wanted to purchase was the Macadamia oil one that everyone has been raving about. Online it said that a smaller bottle version was available for $16, but they didn’t have it in-store, so I cut my losses and went with two Ulta hair masks. I have fine, thin, blonde hair, so I really wanted something that wouldn’t weigh it down or make it oily right away. I wash my hair every other day so I wanted to make sure that this mask wouldn’t force me to break my rule. I read review after review and finally decided to buy this mask along with the Smooth & Protect mask (review on that coming later) because it was buy one, get one free.

I generally take 10 minute showers, but this shower required more time because I really wanted the full effect of the mask. it suggests letting it sit 3-5 minutes before rinsing it out. As a lady with thin hair that tends to grease easily, I was hesitant to go the full five, but after piling the product in and feeling how dead and icky my hair felt, I guessed that I’d rather have one greasy hair day and hope that the mask helped. I actually even brought a watch into the shower to time the mask…that’s seriously how dedicated I was to the timing. When I applied the mask, I did it from root to tip, focusing the product on my tips and the parts of my hair that felt dry, broken or dead. I usually don’t apply conditioner at my roots to avoid greasiness, but I decided once and while can’t hurt.

Anyways, long story short, I rinsed out the mask and I could definitely tell that my hair felt softer and like it had been restored a little. In the shower, my hair felt a little heavier than usual, but I just went with it and decided it wasn’t a big deal. I let my hair air dry and I noticed two things right off the bat: 1) it was a lot shinier than usual, and 2) it wasn’t weighed down at all. My second day hair today is actually even still looking really good and doesn’t look greasy at all. I’m not sure if it has helped my dead ends or not, so I’m going to wait for a couple more uses to really test that out, but from what I have experienced so far, this mask does work. It really conditions your hair and works on restoring the missing nutrients. If you have thin hair, fine hair, or blonde hair, you know it can be a battle with greasy hair, but I promise you that this mask does NOT give you greasy hair. It honestly made my hair really silky and glowing.

So far, so good.

I hope you all enjoyed this review and that you find it helpful!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

